Vintage Tea Party at House@Dempsey

14 Feb

I was there last week on 9th Feb 2012. House, Barracks and Camp is located on Dempsey and it is the furthest block. The high tea buffet was introduced less than a year ago and I am amazed by what they are offering!

Stepping into the restaurant and walking towards the buffet line, there was this strange vibe that hit me. I was fortunate to get a table right in front of the buffet line. There was where everything came into place. It was an old building with some of these old furnitures and walls were pretty much left in their original state. The setting, arrangement and decor on the buffet was perfectly vintage. It was theme ‘Vintage Tea Party’ and it is absolutely brilliant. What’s more, the use of fresh flowers makes our mood especially happy!

It is a very short buffet line but I’m not gonna complain about the variety. It’s tea time and I’ll be happy to be served with quality > quantity treats.

These little chocolate tarts are bite size. Love the soft, wet and semi-liquid chocolate! You won’t feel jelat because it’s not too sweet and girls will like it too because it’s not too bitter. In other words, the flavours are subtle and pleasing to everyone, it’s not too extreme.

I’ll rate this chocolate cake a Good. It’s not fantastic, neither it is ordinary. Similar to the chocolate tart, it wasn’t too sweet that you feel its jelat. There probably wasn’t too much of chocolate that went into it. It was light and gave a subtle chocolaty aroma.

Green tea tart with a lemon curd filling and meringue. I couldn’t tell if the tart base was green tea because the lemon curd was SO sour. Totally jolt me for a moment. Lucky for the slice of sweet orange, it was a very tropical fruity tart. The meringue wasn’t too sweet and it was great.

There are several different cupcakes. I tried 2 of them. The one above which had a little ‘Love’ macaroon was so beautiful! I couldn’t help but take a bite into it. Having tried my hands at making macaroons, I know how difficult it is to make this one. The beautiful blend of colours with hand-written words, is not only aesthetically attractive, there was also a burst of almond flavour! However, it just missed the mark slightly. It would have been perfect if the muffin was a tad more moist.

The green tea cupcake was a bit drier than the previous cupcake. But the green tea was lightly flavoured and not too overwhelming. On the tray behind the cupcakes, the little peanut (butter?) cookie was awesome! It was buttery and so full of peanut fragrance. I secretly wished I had taken a few home.

Above are some of the assorted skinny pizza. This is the savoury part of the buffet and I actually recommend everyone to begin with them before the sweets. The best would definitely have to be the squid ink one. Next best would be the mushroom. The crust on all of them was so thin and crisp and that is the highlight. The centre part of the pizza crust would turn slightly soft because it got in contact with the sauce and topping. But I have to say that they are generous with the topping and every bite into each of them was a surprise with an explosion of flavours in my mouth.

I would have to say that I was slightly disappointed with the Vietnamese rice roll. It was pretty average with all the standard ingredients. Not saying it’s bad, but it’s just ordinary to be featured on a vintage tea party. I thought it was a bit off its place.

I’m not an expert in cheese so I don’t really have much to say about this. What I know is the biscuit might have been placed there for awhile already and wasn’t crispy enough. My friend loved the black pepper cheese alot and thought it was the best. But I felt it wasn’t peppery enough? Guess it’s subjective to everyone.

Isn’t it beautiful? Can’t wait to start!

This was probably one of the best buffets I’ve had in a while. Conclusion? For $23.54 ($22 + GST) [Update May 2012, $26.75 ($25+)], I can’t find a better alternative. Go for it people!!

Don’t forget to start your meal with the savoury items before the sweets if you want to maximise your stomach space. Also, because this buffet is only available on Thursday and Fridays, it is best to call to make a reservation. I’m glad I did because I planned to go a few weeks ago but I called and was told that the venue was booked for a private function. Lastly, try to get there slightly before the buffet starts at 3pm, hopefully you can request for a table in front of the buffet line, it makes the entire experience wonderful and you get to snap some nice pictures before anyone start taking items onto their own plates!

Opening Hours for high tea buffet:
Thursday and Friday only
3.00 -5.30pm

 Address:
8D Dempsey Road
#01-01 to 06
Singapore
Tel: +65 6475 7787

Ratings:
Food: 4.5/5
Ambience: 4.25/5
Value: 4.75/5
Service: 3.75/5

2 Responses to “Vintage Tea Party at House@Dempsey”

  1. Awyong Poh Kuan May 27, 2012 at 3:12 am #

    Looks really yummy. Will bring my nieces during the June holidays. But note price is now 25+ :(

  2. l0on December 3, 2013 at 3:40 am #

    Hey!

    This is Cheryl from HOUSE (under the Spa Esprit Group), we recently revamped our Vintage High Tea so you can now expect more variety of sweets and savouries, what more, we change them occasionally so you don’t have to worry about having the same thing each time you come. Price is $30++/pax but if you come dressed to the 1920s, you get an instant 10% off ;)

    Cheers!
    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

